Notices
Jeeping Lifestyle Post your wheeling adventures and JK trail experiences!

Years and Years of Inexperienced Recreational Four Wheeling

Old 01-24-2015, 09:39 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Years and Years of Inexperienced Recreational Four Wheeling

So, after 20 years of driving off-road professionally (I'm a geologist) and some recreational backroad and trail riding it occurs to me that I've never used nor needed recovery gear. I can generally just call out a CAT D10, and I've never had to. Having said all that, I'm now embarking on some family wheeling and figure it's time for me to gear up appropriately. I always carry a shovel, axe, pick, jack, gloves and personal safety equipment (e.g. safety glasses, vest). I think all I really need to pick up is a strap and shackles. Any recommendations for a strap and shackles? I'd like some logic for the recommendation too, seems like everyone has an opinion.

Anyone?...Anyone.........?
Old 01-24-2015, 10:41 PM
JK Newbie

I always take a snatch strap, safer than using a chain and if your stuck in mud, sand, or snow it uses the pulling vehicles enery and acts like a rubberband to slingshot you out. I use a arb brand snatch strap has worked great in rocks and on me and I've used it in sand and snow to pull out trucks.
Old 01-25-2015, 07:15 AM
JK Super Freak

I'm a civil engineer and have spent many km offroad getting to various job sites also. Even though we say "never wheel alone" the reality is different from that. And if the site is not developed yet, there's no equipment around! So I carry the following.

Warn M8000 winch
Recovery strap
Snatch block
3 or 4 D rings
Hi lift 48"
Shovel
Compressor
Bottle jack
Misc. ratchet straps
Flashlight
Bow saw or chainsaw
Spare fluids
Socket set

For the strap it is 3" wide and I think rated at 20,000 lbs. It's not a snatch strap that stores elastic energy, just a pull strap.