Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

Uniden pro 520xl Jeep JK

Old 11-30-2016, 07:04 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Uniden pro 520xl Jeep JK

One of the first additions to my jeep was a uniden pro 520xl CB radio. I went with the 520 for the PA speaker function. After some research I ordered a package from rightchannelradios.com so I would have all the correct parts. I ordered The Uniden Pro 520xl with a 4 inch Firestick Antenna and the spare tire mount. The whole package was delivered at my door 5 days later.

I have little to no experience on DIY work so even something as simple as mounting the antenna and running the wires was new territory for me. My first issue was running the coax cable through the hole where the grommet usually is by the spare tire, it took me a bit to get it through with some needle nose pliers (I wouldn’t recommend the pliers since I almost damaged the coax cable). I have been using the cigarette outlet on the dash for power to the radio which has been working well. I picked up the adapter to the cigarette lighter from amazon for 8 dollars and had no problems soldering the wires together properly. It took a little trial and error to get the swr readings in a good range, I didn’t properly mount the antenna at first and it took some adjusting. My swr readings were then in the 1.5 range and I took it the jeep down the highway to test it out. I drove for an hour and got nothing but radio silence on several channels. I got off the road to checked the mount, tightened the CB antenna stud mount, checked my swr readings again and I was above 3 on all channels.