Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Wiring an Off Road Trailer

Old 05-29-2015, 09:52 AM
JK Junkie

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by Desert Snow
One question I have is related to grounding. The fuse block does not have a ground connection, so I assume the approach is simply run all grounds from the appliances, lights, etc to the switch and then from the switch to the same location on the trailer frame?

And, then the same from the negative terminal of the battery to the frame.
Sorry but I have no experience with camper trailers so someone else will have to help you with that. The way I do it with boat trailers is to ground the trailer lights directly to the trailer frame. The trailer frame is also grounded to the vehicle connector and then back to the battery or vehicle chassis. I would think it would be similar but don't know for sure. But the camper would have to stay connected to the vehicle unless you want to drive an 8' grounding rod into the ground every time you park it. That's dangerous in itself though.

Last edited by 14Sport; 05-29-2015 at 12:08 PM.
Old 05-29-2015, 04:56 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

One question I have is related to grounding. The fuse block does not have a ground connection, so I assume the approach is simply run all grounds from the appliances, lights, etc to the switch and then from the switch to the same location on the trailer frame? And, then the same from the negative terminal of the battery to the frame.
You don't need to worry about them all being grounded at the same point on the frame, unless you just want to for aesthetics. Any point on the frame will do.