Notices
JK Garage - Member Builds Post your Jeep builds here and share your experiences on the build with the JK-Forum community.

Slow but Steady

Old 02-22-2016, 05:02 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slow but Steady

Hi all. New to this forum. Have lurked for brief spurts off and on for several years.

Anyways...just entered the JK world in January of 2014, when I purchased my 2014 JKU (Anvil) new.

Have had big plans for it for a while. Just been accumulating parts for it along the way over the last couple of years. Took advantage of some sales.

First major thing I did was build my front bumper. I had seen many bumpers out there that I liked, but nothing that had all elements that appealed to me in one bumper. I still love looking at them though, because I'm a pipe welder by trade, and admire the creativity and craftsmanship on many of them I see. Anyway...it all started with a mock-up, using a bunch of scrap 3/16" plate drops from work (hence all the surface rust)....

And then into the final product...

There's a recessed winch-mount in there somewhere lol.

So along the way, I did the light bars. The small 20" on the bumper hoop was the first one. I do a lot of driving in some Nat'l Forests, on some crappy roads at night. It comes in handy out yonder. It's a Chinese knock-off I picked up for about $60 shipped. At this time, I've had it almost 2 years now. It's ran submerged while on, through all kinds of weather, beaten by stones and gravel...and it still rocks.

Oh wait...there's more....lol
Old 02-22-2016, 05:36 PM
JK Newbie

Default Cont...

So, continuing onward...

I had plasti-dipped the wheels (needed some cheap, quick stuff to do to get my fix), did the old grill mesh mod, and got some decals for it.

The stick family decal has been really popular at the jobsites lol.