Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Getting stuck in water?

Old 05-25-2008, 12:20 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting stuck in water?

I was off-roading the other day and went through a water crossing (more like the side of a stock tank). I got stuck and I had water coming in the inside of the driver's side, and the muffler was under water. I had to cut the Jeep of because I had to get help to pull me out. The truck couldn't pull me out with out me starting the Jeep and trying to drive out as well.

My Question is when getting stuck in water is there a time you should not turn the Jeep back on and drive out? I was kind of worried about hydrolocking the engine. I'm a newbie, so the next time I get stuck in some water I kind of want to know the limits of the JK. ( I don't have a snorkel, hopefully for X-mas.)

Basically I want the do's and don'ts for getting stuck in water (besides not getting stuck or going in it at all).

Last edited by martij3; 05-25-2008 at 03:21 AM.
Old 05-25-2008, 03:23 AM
JK Enthusiast

Hydrolocking will only occur if you get water into the intake on the engine. The muffler under water is not a problem.

If you have an auto, it's safe to start anytime while submerged.

If you have a manual, your jeep will start without engaging the clutch if you put the transfer case into 4LO and First Gear on the tranny. Try to avoid clutching while under water. That said, if you can't help it.. clutch and get your components checked afterwards.
Old 05-25-2008, 06:45 AM
JK Freak

I may be wrong on this, but I was told years ago to avoid turning off motor if exhaust tip is inder water. Engines are not my gig, but iwas told the exhaust will suck air, or water, in before its starts blowing exhaust out. Is this not a true statement?
Old 05-25-2008, 06:57 AM
JK Freak