Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Spare parts for off roading?

Old 04-19-2016, 07:35 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Spare parts for off roading?

I am new to JKs, but not to wheeling. I used to carry things like extra U-joints, but I hear the JKs don't have them. I also saw a thread about the clip on the transfer case cable being a weak point. What else should I consider having on hand when wheeling in a JKUR?

I still have my recovery kit, jack, winch, ect, but I am more interested in specific JK weak links.
Old 04-19-2016, 03:46 PM
JK Junkie

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by 16FW
I am new to JKs, but not to wheeling. I used to carry things like extra U-joints, but I hear the JKs don't have them. I also saw a thread about the clip on the transfer case cable being a weak point. What else should I consider having on hand when wheeling in a JKUR?

I still have my recovery kit, jack, winch, ect, but I am more interested in specific JK weak links.
I carry some OEM rear axle shafts but thats so I can limp home if I break my good G2 shafts.
Old 04-19-2016, 05:06 PM
Super Moderator
FJOTM Winner

Received 483 Likes on 440 Posts

You'll need to be a little more specific on how you wheel and how hard you are on equipment. Otherwise you'll get crazy answers ranging from a tire plug to the whole axle and spare motor.
Old 04-20-2016, 01:33 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by karls10jk
You'll need to be a little more specific on how you wheel and how hard you are on equipment. Otherwise you'll get crazy answers ranging from a tire plug to the whole axle and spare motor.