Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

New or used?

Old 12-12-2012, 10:46 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New or used?

Hey everyone,
Jeep noob here. I'm a Toyota guy making the jump. Looks fun, what the hell! I've been looking for 2 weeks and I'm amazed at how these Wranglers hold their value.

I need help deciding on a 2008 JKU Rubicon for 23k. It's got about 90k miles and a really impressive car fax. Auto, hard top.

or

a new 2013 JKU Sport for $23,190. With all the stealership fees it'll be close to 24k I'm sure. But, it's a soft top. A minus for me since I like to carry a kayak.
The new JKU Sport is also a manual, which I prefer.

If I get the hard top my plan is to fab up a roof rack. If I get the soft top, I'll just have to buy a hard top eventually.

Seems like the obvious answer is the new one, but I'm probably missing some virtues of the Rubicon. I'm not a wheeler, just camping, snow, maybe a fire road now and then.

So, here it comes.....which Jeep would you buy?

Thanks all
Old 12-13-2012, 02:33 AM
JK Junkie

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

A stock Jeep is a very capable off road vehicle. I can see the added benifits of getting a Rubi if you did some major four wheeling or rock crawling. I have a sport 2dr with 3.73 gears, auto, Rubi 4 dr springs, shock, tires and wheels. Does fine for me. I run alot of logging roads. Now, I might add a rear locker down the road and winch. Where Rubi's come with front and rear lockers and a lower gear for transfer case.
Old 12-13-2012, 02:45 AM
EzK
JK Super Freak

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Sport. You're getting a fresh vehicle with 80 extra horsepower. It will do fire roads and light trails just as good as a Rubicon would.

(I have a Rubicon and wheel with 3 guys that have sports)