Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Whats Next???

Old 10-05-2015, 06:17 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Whats Next???

Hey all. I have a few questions. I have a 2011 JK Sahara Unlimited and I have full suspension upgrade with 2 inch lift, 33 inch tires with 17 inch wheels. I'm looking into what I can do next to improve the performance in my off road experience. I'm new to off roading so I'm not sure what to get next. Just went to Rausch Creek in PA for the weekend and had a blast. Just wanna be able to tackle more of the trails and courses with a bit more ease. Help Me Out!!!
Old 10-05-2015, 06:23 AM
JK Junkie

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Are you set on recovery gear (winch and associated accessories)? If so, I'd look into skid plates or frame-mounted rock rails next.
Old 10-05-2015, 07:24 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Your build is more than enough to get you into some very serious trouble offroad.

Think about your current pinch points when you're out on the trail. Is the rig still using stock gearing? Does it feel too high for what you do? Have you disconnected the front swaybar to let the axle float on the rocky stuff? Do you think you need quick disconnects if you're going to be doing it a lot? Have there been any safety issues, i.e. lack of lighting, or wishing you had more recovery gear?

Just in those few sentences there's multiple thousands of dollars worth of potential build and hours and hours of work and you can really pick any direction you want to go with your next mod(s).

Referencing another thread on here, if the Jeep is 'good enough' and resources are on a budget, is there a better tradeoff just using that available cash to go enjoy the rig, or are you more interested in adding that next mod?
Old 10-05-2015, 10:23 AM
JK Newbie