Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

6-spd fix for knocking noise and shifting problem

Old 05-06-2007, 09:39 PM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 6-spd fix for knocking noise and shifting problem

So i've been driving my JK for about six months now, and have gotten used to the Knocking sound that comes from the shifter area when in first, third and fifth while hitting a bump etc. But today, the shifter felt wierd... as if it lost its springy-ness and it didn't feel like it was actually clicking into the upper gears (1,3,5,) and wanted to stay in the lower gears (2,4,6,). By the time i got home, the shifter would fall out of first, third and fifth into nuetral where it was very stiff and didn't want to move. Upon removing the shift boot from the consil, i noticed that the inner shift boot had come loose. After about fifteen straight minutes of trying to clip it back into place, i realized it simply wasn't going to happen. Its a rubber boot with a plastic ring at the bottom, two tabs facing towards the rear of the jeep, and two clips facing the front of the jeep. the tabs go in no problem, the clips just wouldn't clip and when they would it was only seconds before they popped back out. So here's what i did: I took a small block of styrofoam, wrapped it in a disposable shop towel (those heavy duty blue paper towels), then wrapped the whole thing in electrical tape, and then wrapped rubber splicing tape around the block. the shop towels really aren't needed... i just did it for the heck of it, the electrical tape is there to hold the towel on, and the rubber splicing tape is there to give it traction to keep it from moving. Then i wedged the whole thing between the very bottom of the consil and the inner shift boot to keep the boot from popping back up. Then i put the outer shift boot back in place, and its all fixe