Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

Front crank seal replacement write up with pics !!

Old 07-26-2013, 07:36 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Front crank seal replacement write up with pics !!

This is my first time ever changing one. My way worked quite well and pretty easy. Some others out there may do it different, but here is a write up of how i did it with some pictures included.

I've had a slight oil leak for months now seeping from the front of lower engine and dripping on the oil pan and surrounding upper and lower fasteners. At first it looked like my oil pan gasket. But after cleaning the whole area with engine degreaser and water I further realized it was coming behind the crank shaft pulley and dripping down slowly on oil pan. Especially when jeep has warmed up and has been running for a while...So I did a little research and decided to do the job myself. Here we go.

Here is the fun part. The bolt on the center of pulley has to removed. WARNING: This step is considered dangerous the way i did it but very effective. So if your not comfortable doing it this way don't do it.
You need a 18-24 inch long breaker bar with half inch size end. The socket you can use on the pulley bolt is 5/8, or 15mm, or even 19/32. You will not be able to turn bolt by by breaker bar alone, you end up turning whole engine over. Meaning moving crankshaft that moves pistons. The breaker bar has to be tied to frame of vehicle with a piece of rope or bungee cord as I did.