Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

Re-gear DIY?

Old 11-23-2016, 07:23 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re-gear DIY?

I am NOT a pro mechanic but I am pretty confident when it comes to that stuff. Has anyone here ever tried this? I understand the basic procedure but I'd like to hear if any shadetree mechanics have attempted it. I just thought with the right tools, it could be done.
Old 11-23-2016, 07:27 AM
JK Freak

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Yep I did mine and I had no prior experience. 20k miles and still doing fantastic. This thread was what I used for my DIY as well as some other resources. But this will get you started.

https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-w...gearing-82262/
Old 11-23-2016, 07:54 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by PsychoCupcake
Yep I did mine and I had no prior experience. 20k miles and still doing fantastic. This thread was what I used for my DIY as well as some other resources. But this will get you started.

https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-w...gearing-82262/

Wow,I have never seen such a detailed write up! This gives me alot of confidence. Thanks!
Old 11-23-2016, 09:14 AM
JK Freak

Originally Posted by landis76
Wow,I have never seen such a detailed write up! This gives me alot of confidence. Thanks!
Yep! And if you have any questions, feel free to PM me. I'm always happy to help.
Old 11-23-2016, 10:18 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

I have never done my own gears, and not sure I would on my DD.

My current housing was geared to 4.88 before I got it. When I replaced the axle seals, I could not get the carrier back in to the housing. Whoever did the gears had put so much preload on the bearings, that I had to ask someone else to help. They ended up using a case spreader to stretch the diff housing just enough to get it back in.