Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

Teraflex Leveling Kit Install

Old 04-12-2013, 07:48 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Teraflex Leveling Kit Install

Installed my TeraFlex leveling kit on my 2013 JK yesterday. Did it at home in my garage with basic tools. It took a few hours. I am no mechanic, but am mechanically inclined.

Tools:
6 ton Jack Stands
2 1/2 ton floor jack
Wrenches
Sockets
Breaker bar
Coil Spring Compressor.

Steps:
FRONT
-Loosened front lugs.
-Jack up jeep and support the frame with stands
-Support Axles with floor jack
-Remove tires.
-Remove lower shock bolts
-Remove sway bar links.
-Lower the jack, allowing the axle to droop.
-Pull out the spring and isolator
-install front spacers followed by the factory isolator.
-I was able to put the front springs back in without using the spring compressor, But if necessary, use spring compressor to aid in reinstalling springs.
-Install new TF sway bar links (Must insert grease zert and grease the links).
-Bolt the lower shock bolts back into place.
-remount tires
- Lower jack until wheels are on the ground, make sure everything seats properly.

REAR
-Remove wheels/tires
-Loosen lower shock bolts
-Disconnect brake lines, sensore lines, etc (Anything that can get in the way of the axle drooping)
-I disconnected the track bar on the passenger side only to allow myself room to work the spring in and out.
-Remove spring and isolator
-Mount spacer and isolator- You may have to use a bottle jack to press the spacer into space, otherwise it will fall and be a pain.
-Use spring compressor to compress spring..CAREFULLY. Make sure the placement of the compressor on the spring allows you room to navigate and will not get in way of axle, etc.
- Reinstall spring and slowly let off of compressor until spring is back in place.