Notices
MOAB If you're thinking about heading out to Moab, Utah and are looking for information regarding trails, lodging, camping and/or events that are going on, this is the forum for you!

First Time wheeling in Moab.... my thoughts and experience

Old 09-01-2014, 12:50 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation First Time wheeling in Moab.... my thoughts and experience

*** Been to Moab before, this was first time wheeling there. Don't wheel back in STL cause I don't like the trails, scenery, or the hot humidity. Did 2 runs when 1st bought the Jeep and going trough mud and getting scratches from trees is not my thing. We travel every year and I knew we would return with a Jeep. Im by no means a expert in wheeling here or anywhere else. This is just my thoughts on my experience from Moab

Research, Research, Research ....Go over maps, videos, The RR4W site, that Funtrek Guide book....anything . Once you have an idea on what trails, talk to Off-road Clubs from that area, on Facebook Groups and/or Forums about trails. Take the Funtrek book with a grain of salt... sometimes the mileage might be off by 1/10th of a mile and you'll see a dirt side road intersecting, and it can get confusing sometimes. The markers or identifiers aren't always easy to see. Thats where watching videos help, so you can catch reference point.

Trails, Trails, Trails
Before we left I was planning on 2 trails a day. Sure it can be done, (Finns & Hells) but realistically, one a day is better. There are some that are easy and you can do a "loop" per say, but anything thing that is hard, it takes a toll on you and the family. Best option is be flexible and plan on one trail a day and go from there.

Intimidation and Pucker factor