Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Frankenlift 101

Old 02-09-2016, 07:04 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Frankenlift 101

I've been rocking back and forth between lifts for close to a 6 or 8 months now and still don't feel like any closer to a decision so I'm now considering piecing one together. I'm only wanting 2.5" so what is the bare minimum to start off with? Im probably going to opt to Metal Cloak coils if that helps. The help is going to be greatly appreciated. Trying to keep the build as budget friendly as possible by the way.

Also for a little more info the jeep is a 2 door sport. Current mods are 2.5 budget boost, ballistic wheels, jcr bumper and engo winch. Future mods are ace sliders, tire carrier, and a regear.
Old 02-09-2016, 07:27 PM
Super Moderator
FJOTM Winner

Received 483 Likes on 440 Posts

I am/ was in your situation for a while so I'll tell you where I am currently and what's working.

Currently rk 2.5" coils, Rancho shocks, longer sway bar links f/r, and rear track bar bracket.

I've not added any bumpstops because I chose shocks that wouldn't limit uptravel and I'm in the process of going to longer brake lines because mine are wearing through from the outside rubbing on things. I've also not gone to adjustable track bars yet and I don't see a need...yet. The front driveshaft very recently started spitting grease so I'm watching for a driveshaft or the TF rebuild kit, whichever pops up first.