Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Leaking Transmission Cooler Lines Replacement

Old 01-19-2015, 07:42 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaking Transmission Cooler Lines Replacement

I have a schedule to fix the leak in the lines this week, but I heard after the dealership even replaces the lines, there still could be some leaking.

Would it be more cost efficient if I just did the replacement myself? I am not too educated when it comes to under the hood projects because I'm still a Jeep noob. If it is more cost efficient, how difficult is it to replace the lines?

If there is always a chance for a leak in the future, would it be smarter to replace the whole cooler and lines with after markets?

Thanks in advance !
Old 01-19-2015, 08:21 AM
JK Jedi Master

Received 163 Likes on 141 Posts

If it's covered by the extended warranty, let the dealer do it.

Regarding leaking afterwards, the new lines will likely leak at the same points eventually. The crimps they use when making the lines are not that good.

When you get it back after the replecement, look at the quick disconnects on both ends of both lines.
It's possible the mechanic didn't completely seat the couplers, which can cause a leak and vehicle fire.

Here is a picture showing what to look for.

Old 01-19-2015, 03:37 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by ronjenx
If it's covered by the extended warranty, let the dealer do it.

Regarding leaking afterwards, the new lines will likely leak at the same points eventually. The crimps they use when making the lines are not that good.