Notices
The New Member Registry If you're new to JK-Forum.com, please take a moment to sign-in, introduce yourself and show us your Jeep JK Wrangler!!

New member - Howdy.

Old 11-24-2014, 02:06 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member - Howdy.

Good morning. Name is Mike. I am a retired soldier, now working in the power industry.

My hobbies are competitive shooting, ham radio, dog training and showing, hiking, and JEEPS.

I currently do not own a jeep. There is a bit of a story there. In the late 70s I owned an Auto Union jeep. I was a soldier in Germany when I had this. Never heard of it? Did you ever hear of AUDI? Well, Auto-Union was the WW-II forerunner of Audi. This is what it looked like.

https://www.google.com/images?q=1958...nga+auto+union It had a 3-cylinder 2-cycle engine, but it was powerful and fast enough. If you have even driven a 2-cycle motorcycle, you know what I mean. We had a lot of fun with it, in the summer. In the winter it was not a pleasant ride. Germany gets COLD! And with a canvas top and minimal heater, it was just cold. My German Girlfriend ran it into a tree and killed it. But she promised to marry me, so it got repaired and sold for a more "winter friendly" vehicle.

While trying to serve the country and raise a family, soldier-pay didn't allow the luxury of a second vehicle. Especially a toy. So I was jeepless for a number of years.

In 2000 an opportunity opened up. I got a 1976 DJ-5D. Over the years I worked on it, and even used it for home-schooling my daughter in auto shop 3 times a week. She did the overhaul on the Dana-44 rear axle. It wasn't 4WD, but it got me everywhere I wanted to go in the desert. Big wide tires that floated over the sand and the Dana-44 made up for the lack of 4WD.

Some DJ photos here. postal jeep

I got a promotion at work about 4 years ago, and the DJ-project ground to a halt. I never really "enjoyed" working on it. And now I had even less time.