Notices
NorCal If you live in Northern California and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum Jeepers near to you and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

NorCal - Bay Area Lift shop

Old 07-27-2014, 09:42 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NorCal - Bay Area Lift shop

I'm getting my AEV 2.5 lift kit on Tuesday. Does anyone have a good shop they recommend and a suggested rate? I found a mechanic off craigslist that will do it for 300 but I'm not too sure. I'm a newbie here. I would try to do it myself but I just moved to California. No tools and I don't trust myself taking apart my JK. I barely know how to fix a garage disposal or assembling some IKEA furniture.

Thanks
Old 07-28-2014, 12:44 AM
DJ1
Former Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by tonyatkayak
I'm getting my AEV 2.5 lift kit on Tuesday. Does anyone have a good shop they recommend and a suggested rate? I found a mechanic off craigslist that will do it for 300 but I'm not too sure. I'm a newbie here. I would try to do it myself but I just moved to California. No tools and I don't trust myself taking apart my JK. I barely know how to fix a garage disposal or assembling some IKEA furniture.

Thanks
I've got the same lift. It's not extremely difficult but just takes a little time finessing that front passenger shock out. Outside of that, install is pretty straight forward. But yes, you would definitely need to have some tools, a jack, and jack stands. A roomy garage with a personal fridge nearby also helps!

$300 doesn't sound too bad if they turn it around the same day and you absolutely have to go that route. Especially if you have zero tools. Takes about 8-10 hours. Less time if the mechanic has an actual lift to work under.