Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

HAM and CB mounting

Old 08-05-2016, 06:27 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HAM and CB mounting

I'm hopefully passing my Tech exam tomorrow and have been thinking of running both HAM and CB on my JKU. I run my spare in my cargo area and have a Poison Spyder tramp stamp with a plate relocated. I was thinking of doing a setup similar to the Arizona Rocky Road on either side of where my carrier would be, but don't want the poles that extend the mount up past where a spare would be. Any ideas, sorry I'm still learning!
Old 08-05-2016, 02:36 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cool First things first

What you need to consider first is getting at least one third of the antenna(s) above the top of your JK, especially if it has a hard top. Then you want to insure that there is at least 24" of horizontal separation between the antennas. With a mobile 2 meter radio, you will be dealing with 50 to 75 watts of power output as compared to 4 watts with your CB radio. Also the CB radio is in the HF band and your mobile 2 meter radio will be in the VHF band. If you have a HAM Club in your area, contact them and they will help you. Most have Club Web sites with contact data listed. Best of luck with your test ! 73, W6PBR
Old 08-05-2016, 03:09 PM
JK Newbie

I should probably be a little more specific. For the medium term I plan on running a Baofeng 82hp which is rated at 8 watts on high power. I have a 15" whip on it not, but was going to swap out a (hopefully) decent mobile antenna. As for CB I'll probably just get a Midland to start out with. I was thinking a 3' or 4' Firestick.