Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

2009 Front Passenger Seat Play

Old 12-06-2016, 05:21 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 2009 Front Passenger Seat Play

I have a 2009 Wrangler X. The passenger seat suddenly started having significant play in the seat when you sit against it. The back of the seat is locking, but for some reason has play. The gears seem engaged, but it's definitely noticeable. If you push against the front of the drivers seat, it's solid with no play.

Anyone have any seat experience? Not sure who to take something like that to if I cant figure it out. Upholstery shop? Sure dont want to take it to the stealership and pay out the tail end.

Any suggestions would be great. I have no seat repair experience!

Thanks
Old 12-07-2016, 05:05 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,816 Likes on 1,586 Posts

I disassembled those front seats to install leather a few years back. There's nothing magical about them. There are two bolts on each side that hold the back of the seat to the bottom. It sounds like that might be where it's loose. In order to verify, you'd need to pull the seat from the jeep by removing the 4 bolts that hold it to the floorboard, removing the seatbelt, and then wrangling it out the door. It's just a little cumbersome if nothing else. That is the only place I can think of that would produce some play in the back of the seat. Have you owned that jeep since brand new, or is there a chance a previous owner might have messed with the seats?
Old 12-07-2016, 05:41 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts