Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

About to buy new JK and need advice

Old 06-08-2010, 12:33 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default About to buy new JK and need advice

I'm planning on making the switch from a 1979 International Harvester Scout II to a new unlimited this weekend and I would really appreciate some help.

For what it's worth, I've had a CJ5 and a CJ6 in the past so I like to think I'm not a complete newbie.

1. The wife is demanding a hard top, I want a soft top. Do I buy one with the dual top group for $1600 more or do I buy the hard or soft and then buy the other from ebay or Mopar directly?

2. I REALLY like the Mountain edition. But is the extra $4k worth it?

3. Are they really taking orders on the 2011's at the end of this week?

Thanks for everyone's help.
Old 06-08-2010, 12:41 PM
JK Jedi

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by tobor
I'm planning on making the switch from a 1979 International Harvester Scout II to a new unlimited this weekend and I would really appreciate some help.

For what it's worth, I've had a CJ5 and a CJ6 in the past so I like to think I'm not a complete newbie.

1. The wife is demanding a hard top, I want a soft top. Do I buy one with the dual top group for $1600 more or do I buy the hard or soft and then buy the other from ebay or Mopar directly?

Definitely get the Dual Top option! Keep the wife happy so you can add more mods to the Jeep in the future! Just take one of the JK forum DIY hoist to remove/store the hardtop during the summer months.
Old 06-08-2010, 01:06 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts