Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Need help in removing soft top for the season

Old 09-16-2012, 05:49 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help in removing soft top for the season

This is my first time removing the soft top since I didn't have the duel tops before. What is involved in taking the soft top off in the back? Does it just come off by pushing some clip or do you need to remove some hardware? Thanks from a newb hardtop owner.
Old 09-16-2012, 06:00 AM
JK Freak

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

There's a plate the mounts to the roll bar on each side containing two bolts each. Unbolt all four, with top down, and kinda twist the framework a bit to clear the plates from the cage and you're all set
Old 09-16-2012, 06:09 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by mhaines
There's a plate the mounts to the roll bar on each side containing two bolts each. Unbolt all four, with top down, and kinda twist the framework a bit to clear the plates from the cage and you're all set
Thanks. I though that might be the case but didn't want to start removing hardware if it was simpler than that.
Old 09-16-2012, 06:49 AM
JK Freak

i am assuming you are putting a hard top on.. you need to take the plastic surrounds around your doors off shoulb be 3 big knobed bolts above the doors and you will need to remove the plastic pieces that hold the bottom of your back window down... the hard top has 4 bolts on each side 3 under the window and one on the top of the roll cage... hope this help
Old 09-16-2012, 07:00 AM
JK Newbie