Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Engine dismantle and rebuild

Old 08-05-2012, 06:06 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine dismantle and rebuild

OK, Im looking for tips and advice from anyone who has rebuilt the 3.8. I just got mine back from the stealership who were nice enough to take the motor out for me. Basically they said the issue is a bent push rod due to water damage, which is bullshit because I really doubt a jeep can get water damage so bad that the engine gets damaged from just a puddle (literally, a rain puddle). Anyways, I have an account at AllDataDIY.com and I have some papers and knowledge I can refer to but I just need some tips and clues that'll make the job easier as this is the first time I'll be going inside the 3.8.

The motor is in the back of the jeep on a palette and all parts are stripped except the valve covers and heads and EGR valve. I'll be pulling those off and draining the motor probably thursday and friday as I dont have to go to work. I have all the tools I'll need apart from a pneumatic setup and an engine hoist, but I have friends and beer so that'll be easily fixed.

Anyways, thanks for any help you guys offer and hopefully I'll be back on the road soon. Two months of driving my wife's santa fe is getting gay. Peace.
Old 08-05-2012, 07:01 PM
JK Enthusiast

Interested in how your build works out. Maybe get a few more horses out when done.
Old 08-05-2012, 07:23 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Take pictures of everything, and label anything you remove so you know exactly where it goes. Including bolts.