Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

MOPAR Backup camera installed on Jeep mygig

Old 03-18-2009, 04:52 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MOPAR Backup camera installed on Jeep mygig

Background- I wanted to install a backup camera on my 4dr JK, but was not interested in paying for a bunch of features I would not use with the lockpic(sp?) plus that thing is way pricey!

So I went to my dealership and ordered a backup camera for Jeep Commander. Installed it in my JK and then had the dealership flash the mygig with the Starscan tool to activate the camera system. Very easy to do. I have very little knowledge of electonics and had it all wired up in an hour. The most dificult part was running all the cables from the radio to the camera itself. It works great.

For the camera and the Starscan it was just over $200 with taxes. I can try to answer any questions if you have them. Good luck!
Old 03-18-2009, 04:55 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Where did you/the dealer mount the camera? I'm thinking about doing the tire mount mod.
Old 03-18-2009, 05:04 AM
JK Newbie

I mounted it in the rear bumper right above the trailer hitch.
Old 03-18-2009, 05:43 AM
JK Forum Regional Rep

Can you post pix of the camera and what it looks like on your screen in reverse (assuming you have no other way to turn the camera on othe than being in reverse)?
Old 03-18-2009, 06:35 AM
JK Newbie

Here are the pics you asked for. Sorry for the quality, it's a cell phone. The mygig screen looks hazy because the top is off and it is sunny out. I hope this helps.
BTW-the camera only shows up on the screen when in reverse.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	rearbumpercamera.jpg
Views:	4919