Notices
East Coast If you live in the Mid-Atlantic area (Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, DC, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina) and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum members near to you and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

Best places to off-road in North Carolina

Old 05-28-2013, 06:59 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best places to off-road in North Carolina

Hello everyone, looks like I will be ordering a 2014 WRU in the next couple weeks and am wondering where the best places to go off roading are in North Carolina. I'm fairly new to the sport/way of life, but my father is a seasoned veteran so any place that is fun no matter the difficulty would be nice to know. I'm looking for both trails and I guess natural open areas (beaches/woods/meadows) that we can do in a group and some that we can handle on our own (won't have a wench so the alone areas are just meant to be somewhere a stock rubi can easily handle, though I know you aren't supposed to wheel alone).

Thanks for your suggestions.
Old 05-29-2013, 02:14 AM
JK Junkie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome and congrats on the new rig!

Uwharrie National Forest is probably the best place to go. There is a good mix of easy to difficult trails there.

My favorite beach to drive would be the outer banks around Corolla. There is also some beach driving a liitle closer at Freeman Park in Carolina Beach.

The Linville area has Brown Mountain and also Old NC Hwy 105 is a nice easy drive through some beautiful mountain areas.

Some links for you...

National Forests in North Carolina - Uwharrie National Forest

National Forests in North Carolina - Brown Mountain OHV Trail System

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=Old+N+...bC0e-w&split=0

Last edited by OH9JK; 05-29-2013 at 02:16 AM.
Old 05-30-2013, 12:38 PM
JK Freak