Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

high SWR

Old 05-23-2008, 06:38 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default high SWR

I got a question. I put a SWR meter on my cb and i cant even get it to cal to where it needs to be. When i check the swr it red lines on all channels. I can hear some people talking (some are hard to understand) and people hear me. One guy even said it sounds real good. What would cause a really high reading? I tried a new meter and got the same thing. I dont want to ruin my radio. I am a newbie at this stuff. This is my first cb. Thanks.

Last edited by high-octane; 05-23-2008 at 06:40 AM.
Old 05-23-2008, 07:03 AM
JK Newbie

Default Swr

Have you adjusted the needle when you're in the Calibrate mode? Adjust the needle to read on the highest hashmark while you're holding the mike key. Then switch to the SWR setting and observe what happens when you again press the mike key.
Old 05-23-2008, 11:51 AM
JK Enthusiast

I adjusted the needle but it wounldnt go far enough. Its like it needed more adjustment.
Old 05-23-2008, 01:08 PM
JK Freak

assuming that you are using the swr meter correctly, the most likely cause is not having the antenna isolated from the mounting bracket.

where do you have your mounting bracket at? if it is just bolted to the tailgate, or tire carrier, then it may not be grounded properly.

the mounting bracket itself must be grounded, but the antenna has to be isolated from the bracket so that the antenna is NOT grounded. every time i have helped a friend with this problem, it was because the nylon used on the mount was not in the correct position to isolate the antenna.

take a look at these pics from firestik.com:

here are the pieces you should have:

they can be mounted in one of the two following ways: