JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion

JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/)
-   JK CB & HAM Radios (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-cb-ham-radios-128/)
-   -   New to CB (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-cb-ham-radios-128/new-cb-330922/)

Warpath66 02-20-2016 06:30 PM

New to CB

Yeah guys! I'm a little new to using a CB radio. I'm starting out with a cheep one just a little cobra to get me started. I have my antenna mounted on the tail gate and the cable is already taken care of. The CB is above my mirror. What is the easiest way to wire the power cables? Can I hook it to the battery directly? And do I have to do any kind of tuning in this thing?

Jeepinjim 02-20-2016 06:54 PM

What kind of jeep do you have? I have a 13 JKU and I bought a plug for the cig lighter and ran the wires from the CB down the drivers side and then ran the wires from the plug under the dash . When I want to use my CB I plug it in and turn it on. Don't have to worry about leaving it on when I turn the engine ofg

Jdover 02-21-2016 08:15 AM

Absolutely run a twisted pair of wires of directly to the battery for best results.

Warpath66 02-21-2016 12:17 PM

I have a 2009 JKUR
The CB has an on off switch so I figured a direct battery connection didn't matter

arjeeper 02-21-2016 01:27 PM

Originally Posted by Jdover (Post 4190123)
Absolutely run a twisted pair of wires of directly to the battery for best results.

Exactly. Always power it directly from the battery. And a cheap CB is fine. CBs of all prices almost always have the same performance. There are small differences in receive performance but it's largely immaterial.