Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Need help wiring Lightforce 170's using Lightforce wiring harness

Old 12-29-2010, 07:08 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help wiring Lightforce 170's using Lightforce wiring harness

Let me start by saying I'm a wiring newbie. However, I was able to install a set of Hella 500FF's on my Titan without issue and that install was almost identical to this one. I am trying to install my Lightforce 170's using the Lightforce wiring harness. I laid everything out and I think I have everything figured out except for the switch. I'd like to use an LED rocker switch that I purchased separately instead of the non-lighted switch that came with the Lightforce wiring kit. I definately want to take my time and do this job right.

The Lightforce switch has 2 "legs", the new switch I bought has 3 "legs" (earth, load, and supply). These switches are identical excpect for the LED light and the extra leg on the LED version (I'd like to be able to easily see the switch at night).

As part of the LF wiring kit, a black/red wire and a brown wire go to the switch. Now I'm not sure which wire goes where on my new switch (again, the legs are labeled earth, load, and supply). If anyone could help me figure this out, I sure would appreciate it. I attached a link to the Lightforce wiring harness instructions below.

Also, I'm planning on installing these spliced into my high beams so that they will go on/off automatically when I activate my brights. The switch should allow me to disable this feature. As far as I can tell the pos high beam wire on the passenger side is white with a grey strip, correct? Thanks in advance for any help!
http://lightforce.com/files/pdfs/Wiring_Harness.pdf