Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Waterproofing a Clock Spring?

Old 07-19-2018, 10:01 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Waterproofing a Clock Spring?

I’m new to the jk forum, but I have a 2012 2-Door Rubicon. Through the summer I go topless and doorless, and as many people on the forum have pointed out, the clock spring seems to be the weak point in terms of water resistance in the Jk interior. I replaced my clockspring about a year ago after a heavy rainstorm damaged it. As a result I’ve carried a trash bag with me to throw on when I park. But the other day the jeep went through some light rain and now my horn has stopped working. I haven’t taken it in to the dealership yet, but I suspect the clockspring may have been damaged. Assuming that is the issue and the clockspring does need to be replaced again, I would like for this to be the last time I need to replace it for quite some time. I figured if there were a way of waterproofing it beyond the trash bag that would be helpful, but the only thoughts I had to waterproof were perhaps a silicon spray on the electric connection points attached to the clock spring or some kind of shroud that would cover the steering column? Has anyone tried either of these ideas or found any success in waterproofing the clock spring?
Old 07-20-2018, 03:43 AM
Super Moderator
FJOTM Winner

Received 483 Likes on 440 Posts