Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Recovery Equip

Old 02-21-2008, 10:22 AM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recovery Equip

I am currently looking for a Recovery Equipment kit .... with snatch block, d rings, rope, etc etc....

Anyone have any recommendations on what all is good to have(i am new at this), and is there a kit out there with everything in it ,,,,, and I am wanting to hit the trails soon as I get my DX bumper, winch, and rock rails installed

thanks
Old 02-21-2008, 10:38 AM
JK Freak

Thanks for the link. I will check into about picking one of those kits up.

Yeah I dont wanna wait but I know ill get stuck a time or two at least lol, since im new, just wanna go prepared to get out lol

the thing that kind of sucks is I dont have lockers or lim slip ........ just 4wdLow and winch lol
Old 02-21-2008, 02:00 PM
JK Freak

Search yahoo or google for black rat recovery gear they make a real nice complete kit or arb and warn also have kits available.
Old 02-21-2008, 03:45 PM
JK Enthusiast

As others have mentioned... don't wait! Get out there and meet some people and go off-roading! It's a great time, just don't forget the necessities!

1. Recovery Strap
2. Camera
3. Drinks
4. Snacks

As long as you have friends, that's really all you need. That's all I had when I first went out. With at least two other Jeeps with you.. the group is unstoppable. And when you get stuck.. Let the party start! There is no better way to get to know your Jeep and what mods you want than to take it out stock.

Have fun!
Old 05-25-2008, 03:40 AM
JK Enthusiast

My list when I know recovery is definitely probable:

Proper Tow Points (read frame mounted)
Recovery Strap
Gloves
Boots (more for the sticky stuff)
Hi Lift (Sometimes you can't winch out without ripping something off)
First Aid Kit
Food and Drink