Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Advice on Potential JKU purchase

Old 12-17-2014, 07:39 AM
Former Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on Potential JKU purchase

Currently looking at a used 2013 JKU sport s 25k miles.
I'm new to jeeps

How much should I expect to pay

Are there things to look for regarding abuse or common issues

Is this a good year?
it does have the 3.6 engine in it, a 2 inch budget boost, Tow package with 3.73 gears305/70/18 Nitto Terra Graplers with 12-13/32nd tire tread left( will these need to be replaced soon?)
N-Fab steps

Seems in good condition on the outside but I don't know Jeeps that well and this jeep has been through 2 owners so far ( kind of a red flag with low miles)
This is about all I know so far
Old 12-17-2014, 09:07 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Doesn't sound too bad.. I have a 2010 with 26k miles with two previous owners. Every year has its corks but I believe that was a better one. Nittos usually come at 19-20/32nds. Look at KBB for that year and mileage and you should be good. If you want it get it and make it your own. Good luck on the decision. Pun intended. Lol
Old 12-18-2014, 03:14 AM
JK Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The 3.6 engine with 3.73 gears would be very important to me. Check under the Jeep, does it look bent and beat up?
Old 12-18-2014, 04:15 AM
JK Junkie

Received 159 Likes on 140 Posts

Originally Posted by RubiKing
The 3.6 engine with 3.73 gears would be very important to me. Check under the Jeep, does it look bent and beat up?
I agree with this. Also, financing rate will be different for used vs new. Because JKus hold their value so well, it may be worthwhile looking at a brand new one.
Old 12-18-2014, 06:56 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts