Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Gorilla glass windshield opinions

Old 11-17-2018, 08:36 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gorilla glass windshield opinions

I seem to go through one windshield a year and I’m kind of sick of it so I’m trying to figure out if I should pay extra for the gorilla glass or just buy a cheap one and budget for a new one more often.
Does anyone have the gorilla glass? Is it worth the extra money
Old 11-18-2018, 05:19 AM
JK Newbie

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I’ve been installing auto glass for over 20 years now and the windshield we replace most often is the JK, by far. I’m on my fourth on my 2009 JK. I considered the gorilla glass as well, and have installed a few too. Right now it is considered a Mopar aftermarket accessory which means it is only available through the dealership, and that carries a hefty price tag! I believe the glass itself is around $530, after install you’re looking at around $800 depending on who installs it! We install the aftermarket windshields (pgw or pilkington brand) for $290 and the original Mopar glass for $460. A lot of people think that you are paying the extra amount for the little Jeep climbing the mountain in the lower right corner and the Jeep grill up top, but the Mopar glass is a bit thicker than the aftermarket windshields. The gorilla glass is funky, it’s very thin, and has a different tint than most glass, more yellow than the traditional blue/green. It does look different looking through them. You can push on them and see them bend and distort. Apparently however they come with a limited 2 year warranty as well. They are supposed to resist impact up to 80mph. What that covers exactly I’m not sure. Anyway, food for thought!
The following 2 users liked this post by slimjim0:
Mark Doiron (11-19-2018), Sodak (11-21-2018)