Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

I just purchased my first jeep and I have a question...

Old 08-23-2013, 06:01 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I just purchased my first jeep and I have a question...

Sorry if this is a newb question... But i am a newb and that's how i roll for now.

So, I just purchased a 2007 unlimited on wednesday and I purchased a hardtop from the dealer. I pick up the top on Monday. The dealer is stating that the hardtop needs to be fitted to the jeep. Ive never heard of this; I thought you just could pop it on. I was wondering if you guys had any experience with buying a hardtop after getting your jk.

They're stating it takes 2 hours of labor to get it on the first time. Am I getting ripped off?
Old 08-23-2013, 06:18 AM
JK Newbie

I have a hard top, and no soft top. My girlfriend and I took the top off earlier this summer. It was easy (on and off) I think he's trying to get some money from you. You should show up there without the top and all hardware off, then install it with help of a friend in their parking lot. I think you will need a T-40 Torx socket.
Old 08-23-2013, 07:00 AM
JK Freak

I bought my hard top used. I drove to the guys house and me and my wife installed the top in less than 30 minutes. Rode with it all winter long and it never leaked. We did nothing special to install it. Not exactly sure what would take two hours. Maybe I'm missing something.
Old 08-23-2013, 07:05 AM
JK Super Freak

Yes do it yourself and save the couple hundred dollars. Take a buddy with you to help lift it on too. There are six clips in the back that you put on first then set the top on and bolt it down. Then put the front freedom panels on flip the levers on them and put the rear screws in and you are good to go .
Old 08-23-2013, 07:12 AM
JK Enthusiast