Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

JK recomendations?

Old 06-16-2008, 11:18 AM
JK Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default JK recomendations?

Hi, I’m new to the JK board and would like to congratulate you all on an awesome forum! I’ve already learned a lot about the JK thanks to this board.

I’ve been Jeepin off-road for many years with my 1970 Jeepster Commando and have restored another 1968 Jeepster Commando. I think I’m ready to step up to the new JK Rubicon for more reliable family off-road trips. I’ve been looking at the 2 door and it has all the room I need. Do you guys have any recommendations on what to buy (what options to include) on a 2008 Rubicon? I live in Maine, so most of our off-roading is in the woods with water and mud.

I’ve always had standards, but I think I’m going to get the automatic. The lifetime warrantee is one reason I’m willing to make the switch to auto. Also, can the spare tire rack support the added weight of my Hi-Lift Extreme Jack? I don’t want to mount it to the hood on the hinges because it’s a heavy beast to pick up and move around. I’m afraid I’ll drop it on the hood! Where do you guys store your Hi-Lift’s?

Thanks,
Nathan
Old 06-16-2008, 12:54 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Before going with the Automatic, do a bit of searching. I have the stick, but I have read many threads regarding the questionable quality of the A/T.

Also do a bit of searching on the quality of Chrysler warranty... there is at least one lawsuit that I know of. I guess I'd rather get a more reliable part than rely on the warranty for a less reliable part. My $0.02.