JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion

JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/)
-   JK Talk (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-talk-26/)
-   -   something is wrong (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-talk-26/something-wrong-252932/)

the green machine1989 10-31-2012 02:56 PM

something is wrong

Im fairly new to the jeep world and bought my 2007 jk used from a dealership a few months ago and it had bald tires. When I went around 50 mph or over and ran over something like rail road tracks or small fracture in the road my jeep would "death wobble" this happened on my stock 18' wheels on balding tires. I have recently gotten a set of 35' Dick cepek crushers on 17 and havent had the nerve to test if it'll still wobble, iv also been informed through a friends educated guess is the problem might be bent tie rod ends any one got any advice?

ricksjeep10 10-31-2012 03:26 PM

Check out the numerous threads on this site concerning death wobble. A lot of good info that will lead you in the right direction.

dahreno 10-31-2012 04:19 PM

You should have told the dealership to replace the tires before you bought it. I can't believe they sold it to you like that. I am great at buying cars and would have told them to replace the tires or i'm not buying it! I also would bring back the jeep and have them fix the death wobble , no warrantee ?

Spank 10-31-2012 05:36 PM

Just make sure that whoever you take it to to get it fixed doesn't spoonfeed you any "steering stabilizer" BS. This component has nothing to do with the death wobble and replacing it will not fix the problem.

The likely culprit is either a trackbar or your ball joints (or both).

the green machine1989 10-31-2012 09:34 PM