Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

What have I done?

Old 01-06-2011, 03:46 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What have I done?

I'm a complete nOOb, go easy on me.

Picked up an 08 JK 4x4 (unlimited x - 4 door trail something??) . Guy at work bought a new 2 door a couple years ago, nothing but problems, got rid if it. This one has 10K mi, seems tight, no odd tire wear, ele windows, locks, soft top (not real happy about the security of that one), winch, guessing it was towed behind a class a or something w/that kind of mileage and shape (like new). I tend to keep cars a very long time, hope this wasn't a mistake. Now for a couple questions......

I know this is a brick, I've managed to get nearly 20mpg so far w/slightly overinflated tires. I step on the gas from time to time, just to see if it'll go and well, it does sorta but at about 4K it sounds like I'm ripping it's wallies off. Is this normal or has it been babied and don't know how to wrap some R's?

About that mileage.... Even with that slippery body style, 20 seems a bit low. Would a little modification or 2, keeping it at 55 or 60 do better than 20mpg or should I just get used to it? Guess my 100MPG go anywhere enduro has me a bit spoiled. Would water injection or something help??? Are these things chocked out in the emissions dept, run lean like everything else (dumb question, I'm sure, which means it's mileage is only gonna get worse if one "fixes" it). I'd like to see slow and some decent mileage or go fast w/crappy mileage, not slow AND crappy mileage.

Always wanted one, kinda expensive and there's nowhere around to go off roading. Perhaps I should have seen a shrink first. I hear they're cold in the winter, hot in the summer, wet in the rain, noisy, rough, get broke into all the time, you either love 'em or hate 'em.