JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion

JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/)
-   JK Wheels and Tires (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-wheels-tires-241/)
-   -   -12 offset wheels with stock suspension?? Help! (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-wheels-tires-241/12-offset-wheels-stock-suspension-help-349028/)

JoyMarie 01-15-2019 09:48 AM

-12 offset wheels with stock suspension?? Help!

I just ordered new wheels for my 2013 sport and they are -12 offset. My current tires are 285/70/17 Firestone Destination. They are worn some so they measure out to less than 32". I am getting a 2.5 inch lift installed but it won't be until after the wheels get here. Can I go ahead and run the new wheels on stock suspension or will it rub? I am new to all of this so thanks in advance.

nthinuf 01-15-2019 11:30 AM

Offset is how far in or out of the wheel wells the rims/tires sit. Higher offset is tucked into the wells, lower offset they move further out.

The only problem with lower offset (assuming no lift and stock flares) is that, with stock offset, the tires tuck up inside the wheel wells - but if pushed further out, they may come into contact with the lower lip on the flares when the suspension cycles. This will depend on usage, tire height and width, bumpstops, load, etc, etc. Onroad only, probably not an issue. Offroad where the tires will stuff upward, they're more likely to contact the fenders. Because of the variables, we can't really give a definitive answer on it.

JoyMarie 01-15-2019 11:36 AM

Originally Posted by nthinuf (Post 4334290)
Offset is how far in or out of the wheel wells the rims/tires sit. Higher offset is tucked into the wells, lower offset they move further out.