Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

Gearing

Old 01-24-2016, 09:12 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by ShutterBug
Make sure you're looking at a TruTrac. They don't use clutch packs like the others, so no parts to where out. The TruTrac uses helical gears which are far more reliable.
will do, I did not know that thanks
Old 12-22-2016, 11:59 AM
JK Newbie

And just when I was thinking to myself, "Ya know, I could probably do my own regear in the garage!" Oh, NOPE! Gonna let a pro handle this
Old 09-08-2017, 09:27 PM
JK Newbie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Reviving this thread to get some help and questions answered.

First off, I'm a missionary doctor serving in Papua New Guinea. I just purchased a 2013 JK Unlimited Sport from a dealership up in Indiana. I've already got Yukon 5.13 gears and Eaton E-Lockers on order for the Dana 30 and Dana 44 from Northridge as well as a ProCal tuner. I'll soon be ordering some 35" BFG Mud-Terrain T/A tires on 17' wheels.

I've never replaced gears before, but I'm pretty mechanically inclined, so to save money for a MetalCloak 3.5" Game-Changer suspension with Fox shocks, I've made the command decision to do my own gears. I'll have enough time, but I'm scrambling to accumulate all the necessary tools. I don't want to rent tools, because if I need them in the US, then I want them with me in PNG in case I need them. I've only got few weeks to prep this JK (starting 1st week of November) to bring it back for duty in Papua New Guinea, so I don't want things to grind to a halt because I'm missing a crucial tool or I broke and have to reorder something.

I'm getting a dial indicator with a magnetic base and a beam-type 1/4" inch/pound torque wrench, and I think I've got all the necessary hand tools (all mine are here in PNG) from friends in Sylva, North Carolina.