JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion

JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/)
-   JK Write-Ups (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-write-ups-39/)
-   -   Tailgate Camping table DIY (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/jk-write-ups-39/tailgate-camping-table-diy-255910/)

Big Vic 12-01-2012 07:28 PM

Tailgate Camping table DIY

5 Attachment(s)
Ok this is my first attempt at a new thread with pictures, so hang in there. I have looked into purchasing a tail gate table for my JK but I just can't justify the $280. on up price tags on some of these models, so I made my own.
Attachment 394014
I started with aluminum sheet from old street signs to keep the build light weight.
Attachment 394015Attachment 394016Attachment 394017 I measured the space of the tail gate with enough room to clear the sub-woofer and the max width is 26" across. I chose 13" for the height. The tray table measures out at 24 1/2 wide by 12" . Draw your lay out lines for the 24 1/2 x 12" these will be the fold lines then draw a line 1" wider all the way around, these will be the sides. I didn't get a good picture of the actual layout but you need to leave enough of the 1" strip going 2" past the outside line, this will allow for a boxed corner which will be very strong.

Attachment 394016Attachment 394018
Use a jig saw with metal cutting blade to make your cuts in the aluminum sheets, take your time for nice straight cuts. To fold the aluminum into shape I used my workbench with a piece of angle iron over one edge then laid the aluminum sheet over the angle iron on the layout line. I then took a piece of steel bar stock and placed that on top of the aluminum on the layout line and clamped a 2x4 over the top to the bench.

Big Vic 12-01-2012 08:01 PM

Tai lGate Table DIY

5 Attachment(s)