Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

Video monitor install - stock DVD player

Old 09-19-2007, 10:48 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Video monitor install - stock DVD player

Finally got the mount I needed and some other pieces so I decided to tackle my video monitor install tonight. Took about 2 hours from start to finish and that includes removing plastic pieces, drilling/mounting, wiring, testing and cleaning up. And it should be known that I'm not a professional installer and not really a DIY kind of guy, but stuff like this is fun and helps you understand your vehicle better.

I love the stock JK head unit and the fact that is has DVD... so I purchased a $100 LCD monitor on ebay to take full advantage. You can find LCD monitors in this size anywhere from $90-300 depending on brand and quality. Pyle is probably the cheapest and this Sony used to go for $300-400 but are now like $150 on ebay. It was a steal at $100 - I wish the guy had more of them!

the monitor is a Sony LCD with wireless video capability, came with wireless headphones, has 2 video in, 1 out (to another monitor or recording device), separate video breakout box, all cabling, great manual, and looks fantastic.

So I started with removing the plastic over the rearview as I want to mount my monitor above it. It basically pops off with a little down pressure as it is secured by the usual tabs:

turned over so you can see position of the tabs:

exposed windshield frame:

I used a universal ram mount with two ball ends for numerous configuration options:

Re-installed the plastic now with the ram mount and sony monitor holder:

I plugged it in for a quick test and it is working great so far:

so now I start taking the dash apart. Always helps to know where the tabs are so you don't break or crack anything. top lid: