Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

What's the best tire deflator solution?

Old 12-11-2013, 08:06 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's the best tire deflator solution?

I'm fairly new to wheeling and have only been on a couple runs (one with someone and one with my own Ruby). I'd like to gear up for my next run and need advice regarding the best way to air down.

I've seen single tire deflators and I've seen the set of 4 (auto)...Thoughts???
Old 12-11-2013, 08:18 AM
JK Enthusiast

Spend $30-$40 and get the Currie deflator. Much faster than the Stauns/Smittys because it removes the valve core. Can do all four corners in less than 10 minutes. I'm usually done before everyone else and end up lending my deflator to them/doing it for them.
Old 12-11-2013, 08:28 AM
JK Super Freak

I have an ORW one and it TOO removes the core. I'd suggest any type that removes the core (u have to watch it or you will deflate more than u wanted.. . But if u prefer convenient over speed, then get the preset type , screw them on and forget about them for a few minutes while u do something else (strap ice chest down, take off uppers and put the top down) while the deflators do their "thing". Either way they both do what u want.. Some are just faster than others
Old 12-11-2013, 08:35 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by Yellowfin
Spend $30-$40 and get the Currie deflator. Much faster than the Stauns/Smittys because it removes the valve core. Can do all four corners in less than 10 minutes. I'm usually done before everyone else and end up lending my deflator to them/doing it for them.
I had my eye on the ARB with gauge. I think it removes the valve core also...can you confirm. Does the Currie have a gauge? I could look it up but i figured since you online, lol.

Last edited by wgoode77; 12-11-2013 at 08:39 AM.