JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion

JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/)
-   Modified JK Tech (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/modified-jk-tech-2/)
-   -   3000 RPMs at 60 mph. Need Help. (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/modified-jk-tech-2/3000-rpms-60-mph-need-help-349426/)

MrCuevas08 02-21-2019 06:38 PM

3000 RPMs at 60 mph. Need Help.

Hello Jeep world, I am new to this Jeep universe. A couple of months ago I purchased a 08 sahara unlimited. The jeep came stock besides having 35's, with no lift. The issue I am having is that my jeep feels really forced when driving ( sluggish ) , maybe its because of the 35s, on stock gears. At 60 mph my rpms are pushing to 3000 rpm on 6th gear. The jeep has a manual trans as well. I also just put in a 4'' lift as well. Or is this normal for 35's on a 4'', on stock gears. Thank you for your time I appreciate it.

BoraBora 02-21-2019 06:46 PM

6th gear, 35's, 3.8L, 3000 RPM @ 60 MPH? No, sounds like you have aftermarket gears...likely 5.13's. 6th wouldn't even be usable for you with stock gears and 35's.

MrCuevas08 02-21-2019 06:53 PM

Oh okay yeah I didn't know that, thank you i appreciate it. You would recommend me to stay at this gear ratio? My jeep is my commuter vehicle, to work and back. Go off roading every other weekend to be honest.

BoraBora 02-21-2019 06:56 PM

Originally Posted by MrCuevas08 (Post 4336718)
Oh okay yeah I didn't know that, thank you i appreciate it. You would recommend me to stay at this gear ratio? My jeep is my commuter vehicle, to work and back. Go off roading every other weekend to be honest.

That’s a personal preference really. With a 3.8L though, 5.13’s seem to be what everyone prefers as it needs all the get-up-and-go it can get.