Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing to adjustable lower front control arms

Old 10-02-2017, 05:46 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing to adjustable lower front control arms

I bent my driver’s side lower control arm, and for the dealer to replace that one arm and do an alignment they want $350. I found some adjustable high clearance Rock Krawlers for $250. I’m a fair mechanic, especially on motorcycles, so how hard are these to replace? When I take the stock off are springs and bolts and tiny little important things going to fly across my shop, or is it just a quick swap with the Jeep just sitting there without jacking it up or something? Will I need an alignment?

Thanks!
Old 10-02-2017, 06:30 PM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

Here is a link to a DIY Alignment writeup, it can be found up in the Writeups area with all the others in the Index. It shows one way to check the caster, but throwing it on an alignment rack will obviosly give better numbers. Do you need to pay? Read it and see what you think.

Basic Do-it-Yourself Jeep JK Wrangler Front End Alignment ? Project-JK.com

Replacing the arms is easy, just a bolt on each end. If you are ok with the current caster, match the length to your current lowers and bolt them up. If you want to raise caster, make them longer than stock. Lower caster, shorter than stock.
Old 10-02-2017, 09:55 PM
JK Junkie

Easy to replace, can be a pain to tighten jam nut. I would get a set of Teraflex Alpine arms and call it good. Set to around 23"