Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dumb Newbie Question but need help?

Old 01-23-2013, 11:33 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dumb Newbie Question but need help?

I'm sure this is a dumb question but I'm new to the jeep world... First question i have an 08 wrangler x 6 sp manual what gears do i currently have? Second question i am runnin 33x12.50 R17 do i need to switch them... Third is it very expensive to buy and have installed gear what do they run... Fourth question and probably the dumbest what are the benefits of changing gears the only reason i new people even changed them was because people talk about gears on here all the time but i don't understand what diff that they make... Some help please...
Old 01-23-2013, 11:56 AM
JK Enthusiast

You can prob find out what gears you have online but if its just a sport model I would say 3.21's that's what I have in my 11 JKU. As far as needing them with 33"s I would say no if you just slapping on bigger tires and no lift. Of course if you lift it then you might what bigger tires and then might consider gears. Gears are going to help you get that aggressive take off and keep your jeep rolling instead of barley moving down the road. Some say the increase gas mileage other say you loose some mpg, I don't have bigger gears so I can't comment on that. Hope this helps a bit. I'm sure ppl with a lot more knowledge will chime in soon..
Old 01-23-2013, 12:00 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts