Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Few Questions with First Build

Old 02-12-2019, 05:09 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Few Questions with First Build

So this is my first time doing any type of build with any type of vehicle. Here's a little background. My Jeep is a '16 JKU Rubicon. My plan is to do a 4" Currie lift on 37" Goodyear MTRs. This is my DD but I would like to travel around and run trails maybe once a month or so. I wouldn't be going hard when I'm off roading, on a scale of 1 to 5 on how hard I would go would probably just be a 3. Not going to do any intense rock crawling or anything.

1. There are 2 types of kits that I'm looking at on the Currie website. I was planning to buy the Rancho 9500xl shocks with either kit. Once includes the upper controls arms with the lower. The other just has the lower control arms. My question is for what I plan to do, are the upper control arms necessary or will stock ones be ok? It's about $800 more for the kit to include UCAs. Also read that people use stock but use some type of correction brackets. Can I even just get the UCAs later?

https://www.currieenterprises.com/ce...pension-system (HAS UCAs)

https://www.currieenterprises.com/CE-9807S (NO UCAs)

2. Obviously gearing will be done but does 4.88 gears sound right? I've read people mostly use that set. I've seen 4.56 and 5.13 as well. Mostly in town driving at 55mph zones.