Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Full Build Recommendations

Old 12-16-2017, 01:50 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Full Build Recommendations

Hi everyone!

This is going to be a rather controversial thread, but I thought I'd consult the Jeeper's community for this one!

I'm somewhat new to the off-road community and planning on purchasing a brand new base model Wrangler JL 2dr and doing a COMPLETE rebuild!

(I know this is a JK forum, so just treat this as if we're talking about a 2dr JK)

Keep in mind, I plan to drive this around at least 2-3 times a week, so I'd like to get some realistic and road-worthy suggestions.

----------------
Now, with that being said, let's get down to the nitty gritty. I'm going to name what i'm replacing and feel free to reply on thoughts and suggestions in which manufacturers or options i should go with. This will obviously all be progressive. We will still need to wait for dimensions and such. But again, just treat this as if it were a 2dr JK!

The parts I'm planning to replace are as follows

Axles - D60s (should I do a junk yard rebuild OR buy brand new aftermarket diffs and which diffs)
Gears - To accommodate 40s
Lockers - ARB air lockers or Eaton e-lockers
Tires - 40s (which brand and tire model)
Lift - Long arms AND stretch
Suspension - Springs and shocks or coil overs - after several members suggesting coil overs, seems like it's the right way to go