Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

J8 Help

Old 06-29-2020, 12:17 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default J8 Help

I installed UD60's in my '14 Rubi and upgraded the master cylinder and power booster to a J8 setup. I've gravity bled the brakes, two person bleed the brakes, pneumatic bled the brakes and afterwards the pedal would always go to the floor. I'm not a mechanic, but I've been doing my own brakes for almost 40 years. I couldn't figure it out, so I took it to two shops who specialize in brakes, both shops ABS bled and power bled the brakes, and still the brake pedal would go to the floor. It was finally determined that I had a defective master cylinder. I installed another master cylinder, bled the brakes and all was good for about a week, now I'm back to the same problem, the pedal goes to the floor about every 4th time I stop the vehicle. If it were air in the lines, wouldn't the brake go to the floor every time? I'm beginning to think it's a power booster or vacuum issue....
Any advice would be very helpful, thanks. BTW, I've had 2 YJ's, 1 TJ, and still have 2 JK's and a WK2, not a "newbie", but sure feel like one with this situation.

Last edited by JohnFin; 06-29-2020 at 12:22 PM.
Old 06-29-2020, 12:27 PM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,819 Likes on 1,589 Posts