JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion

JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/)
-   Modified JK Tech (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/modified-jk-tech-2/)
-   -   LS swap questions (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/modified-jk-tech-2/ls-swap-questions-345179/)

DaMangler 02-08-2018 09:41 PM

LS swap questions

First of all let me say this.. I am an LS guy. I've been running LS engines for over 10 years in my drag cars, but this will be my first swap in a JK.

I see most guys running the motec and rpm extreme setups when they do the swap, but Im not too fond pf spending 5k on the harness, mounts, etc. My question is...has anyone done the swap without using the custom harness, but still made their factory gauges, ac, heat, stereo work? My jk is a trail rig that I drive on the street as well, but it is more of a trail rig than anything so I'm not too concerned with the factory gauges working. I do want to use the heat and stereo though. If there is no way to keep those things operational I will just wire up the heat so it works and I will swap out the factory head unit for an aftermarket head unit. For gauges I will use a tablet or edge CTS2 monitor like I have in my dodge.

I'm also trying to decide on the best headers to use. https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.jk-...929bf680b7.jpg

Thanks in advance for your input.

4wheels4life 02-09-2018 01:55 AM

I can't answer your questions as I used an RPMextreme kit. You need to call and talk to Jon at RPM and talk about what you are wanting as he may be able to meet your needs with what you are after.

Rednroll 02-09-2018 04:09 AM

Ametzker has a current work in progress thread (link below) going on, where I believe that he has the same plan but I'm not sure if he's far enough along.
https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/modi...8/#post4304283