Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Unusual "Suspension Recommendation" request

Old 09-02-2017, 10:58 PM
JK Newbie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Unusual "Suspension Recommendation" request

Hey guys, names Tom. I'm looking for suspension recommendation.

I just bought a 13' Sport Unlimited. I've got 5.13 gears on order and 35" BFG on 17" wheels as well. I'm looking for the best suspension for this set-up, which is likely to be different than many of you back in the land of plenty.

I'm a missionary doctor who hails from North Carolina but am now living way up over 5000' in the mountains of Papua New Guinea where I work as a missionary doctor.

The roads around here are made up of stones and small rocks up to orange size and held in place with dirt. It's like a washboard, but on steroids! To make things worse, there's too many potholes to dodge them all. They range from 1' to 5' in diameter, and can be up to 1' deep. You simply cannot drive faster than 10mph on these roads, so it takes forever to get anywhere. A stiff suspension can kill your spine... so you'd think something nice and soft to absorb all the rocks.