Notices
New England If you live in the New England area (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut) and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum members in your area and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

All Wheels in Lewiston: Too good to be true?! What's a new wheeler need to know?

Old 07-23-2010, 11:22 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default All Wheels in Lewiston: Too good to be true?! What's a new wheeler need to know?

Thinking of heading to All Wheels in Lewiston, Maine, this weekend, about 2 hours from me. I'm a wheeling newbie here, what do I need to know? This place sounds too good to be true.

Got a mostly stock '10 Wrangler with 1-2" lift and Cepek 33's. No recovery gear other than a couple bottle jacks and a few tools. What do I need to know before I go, so I don't get myself into trouble? Will obviously take some basic safety/survival supplies, w/phone, ham radios, etc. but just looking to get my feet wet, nothing too adventurous.
Old 07-24-2010, 06:16 PM
JK Enthusiast

Try calling Groupbuy 4x4 in Auburn, they might be able to provide some info.
Old 07-25-2010, 04:26 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The best advice for a newb is don't wheel alone. Bring a buddy in case you run into problems or need a recovery. Bring a high-lift if you don't have a winch. You can get yourself off a rock if hung up and if you need to, you can use it as a winch. Make sure to bring tow straps (the kind with loops - no metal hooks!) Bring plenty of water! The JK is pretty capable and as you're testing it, you will determine the kind of mods you will need. When you get a little more serious, do a lot of research on what equipment to start with and start emptying your pockets!
Old 07-25-2010, 04:35 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by renpia
do a lot of research on what equipment to start with and start emptying your pockets!
Jeez, didn't I just do that when I bought the JK???