Notices
Photography & Videography General discussion forum regarding all aspects of photography including 35mm SLR cameras, Digital Cameras, Video Cameras, lenses, photo techniques, darkroom/Photoshop techniques and anything related to photography or videography.

anyone have advice on telescopes???

Old 08-20-2011, 12:33 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default anyone have advice on telescopes???

I'm trying to find a good telescope that I can take camping or out to the country and do a bit of star gazing and astrophotography. I'd like to find one that has a base that auto tracks and can view planets on the other side of the astroid belt. Anyone have any experience with these? Im a beginner and would rather not spend $1000, so many choices on the market. Thanks
Old 08-24-2011, 08:16 AM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 361 Likes on 269 Posts

First, pick up some binoculars--I recommend either 7x50 or 10x50. Get to know the night sky a bit with a simple star chart or even a planisphere. The book Nightwatch by Dickinson is an excellent resource, spiral bound (lays flat when observing), and includes charts to get you started with some basic objects (fascinating stuff, trust me on this). You'll be amazed what a good pair of binoculars will show you. Second, pick up a current edition of Star Ware by Harrington. This is republished every few years with updated material on buying telescopes, binoculars, and all of the goodies (You think Jeeping can be expensive? I have almost as much tied up in astronomy gear as in my Jeep!). Finally, take your observing gear out to truly dark skies. The night sky is an incredible gift to mankind, and I cannot believe the way so many are being denied it by ignorant nighttime lighting practices.